Board of Directors

As of October 1, 2019

Leslie Garrett, President
Janny Wing, Vice-President
Thomas J. South, Treasurer
Vicki Kreimeyer, Secretary

Phoebe Boelter
Patty Hagedorn
Thomas J. Katsilometes
Lynne Mattison
Christopher H. Meyer
Carol Nie
Gizella O’Neil
Laura C. Simic
Pamela Thomas
Michael Treinen

Mark Junkert, Ex-Officio

Effie Kaufman, Emeritus
Esther Simplot, Emeritus
Doug Zimmerman, Emeritus

Advisory Council

Robert Bracco
Kay Hardy
Don Hendrickson
Christopher Huntley
Larry Leasure
Carol MacGregor, PhD
Rob Perez
Dan Popkey
Jeffrey L. Smith
Anita Weissberg


Mark Junkert
General Director
(208) 345.3531 ext 1

Mark joined Opera Idaho as  Executive Director in 2008 and was named General Director in 2011. At Opera Idaho he has directed WertherPagliacci and the Christmas productions of Hansel and Gretel, Amahl and the Night Visitors. He has served as a judge for the Metropolitan Opera National Council District Auditions.

Mark came from New York City and Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota. In St. Paul, he was the managing director of Skylark Opera. Concurrently, he served as executive director of the Martina Arroyo Foundation, a New York-based organization dedicated to training young opera singers. Mark has also held executive and marketing director positions with The Collegiate Chorale in New York, The National Lutheran Choir in Minneapolis and Augsburg Fortress, a publisher in Minneapolis.

A native of Minnesota, Mark studied voice and opera in the Graduate School of Music at the University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana, studying with William Warfield. He received a bachelor’s degree in vocal performance from the University of Denver.

Stephanie Derentz
Development & Marketing Director
208.345.3531 ext. 4

Kerri Calverley
Director of Children’s Choruses

Michael Porter
Director of Critical Mass Vocal Artists

Kelly Kaye
Chorus Master, Rising Stars Director, & Children’s Choruses Accompanist

Fernando Menéndez
Marketing & Education Manager
208.345.3531 ext. 3

Amber Ellis
Production Manager

Nik Dumas
Artistic Administrator
208.345.3531 ext. 5

Merri Carr
Administrative Coordinator
208.345.3531 ext. 2

Megan Neumann
208.345.3531 ext. 2

Betsi Hodges
Staff Accompanist