Board of Directors

As of October 1, 2020

Leslie Garrett, President
Janny Wing, Vice-President
Thomas J. South, Treasurer
Vicki Kreimeyer, Secretary

Phoebe Boelter
Nicole Brown
Patty Hagedorn
Thomas J. Katsilometes
Lynne Mattison
Christopher H. Meyer
Carol Nie
Gizella O’Neil
Jed Reese
Laura C. Simic
Pamela Thomas

Mark Junkert, Ex-Officio

Effie Kaufman, Emeritus
Esther Simplot, Emeritus
Doug Zimmerman, Emeritus

Fund Development Chair

Michael Treinen

Advisory Council

Robert Bracco
Kay Hardy
Don Hendrickson
Christopher Huntley
Larry Leasure
Carol MacGregor, PhD
Rob Perez
Dan Popkey
Jeffrey L. Smith
Anita Weissberg

Staff

Mark Junkert
General Director
mark@operaidaho.org
(208) 345.3531 ext 1

Mark joined Opera Idaho as Executive Director in 2008 and was named General Director in 2011. He came from New York City and Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota. In St. Paul, he was Managing Director of Skylark Opera. Concurrently, he served as Executive Director of the Martina Arroyo Foundation, a New York-based organization dedicated to training young opera singers. A native of Minnesota, Mark studied voice and opera in the Graduate School of Music at the University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana, studying with William Warfield. He received a bachelor’s degree in vocal performance from the University of Denver. At Opera Idaho he has directed productions of Werther, Pagliacci, Hansel and Gretel and Amahl and the Night Visitors. He has served as a judge for the Metropolitan Opera National Council District Auditions in Pocatello and Spokane, as well as for the Sun Valley Opera Vocal Competition in Seattle. Mark has lectured extensively for The Osher Institute at Boise State University, the Boise City Department of Arts & History, various area clubs and libraries, and before Met –Live in HD broadcasts and every Opera Idaho opera. Last month Mark was awarded the 2020 Governor’s Arts Award for Excellence in Arts Management.

Stephanie Derentz
Development & Marketing Director
stephanie@operaidaho.org
208.345.3531 ext. 4

Kerry Calverley
Director of Children’s Choruses
kerry@operaidaho.org

Michael Porter
Director of Critical Mass Vocal Artists
michaelporter2@boisestate.edu

Kelly Kaye
Chorus Master, Rising Stars Director, & Children’s Choruses Accompanist
kelly@operaidaho.org

Fernando Menéndez
Marketing & Education Manager
fernando@operaidaho.org
208.345.3531 ext. 3

Amber Ellis
Production Manager
amber@operaidaho.org

Nik Dumas
Artistic Administrator
nik@operaidaho.org
208.345.3531 ext. 5

Merri Carr
Administrative Coordinator
merri@operaidaho.org
208.345.3531 ext. 2

Megan Neumann
Bookkeeper
megan@operaidaho.org
208.345.3531 ext. 2

Betsi Hodges
Staff Accompanist